Shrewsbury Public Library

Hours and Closings


Illustrated image of a calendar and clock

Open and view our monthly events calendar.

Library Hours of Operation

Monday through Thursday: 9:00 a.m.9:00 p.m.
Friday: 10:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Saturday: 9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Sunday*: October through May: 1:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m.

*Sunday Hours

The first Sunday of the 2022 season is October 2, 2022. The length of the Sunday season is dependent on donations received from local sponsors. The goal is to remain open on Sundays through May 21, 2023. Please check with the library periodically for the last day of the Sunday season.

Storm Closings & Delayed Openings

The library can have a delayed opening or early closing at any time due to inclement weather. Parents need to make sure that children have a ride home should the library need to close unexpectedly.

We will post closings due to inclement weather or other situations on our home page, and on this Hours and Closings page.


Holidays for 2022–2023

Closed Monday, June 20, 2022 for Juneteenth

Closed Monday, July 4, 2022 for Independence Day

Closed Saturday, September 3, through Monday, September 5, 2022 for Labor Day

Closed Monday, October 10, 2022 for Indigenous Peoples' Day/Columbus Day

Closed Friday, November 11, 2022 for Veteran's Day

Closed Wednesday, November 23, at 5:00 p.m. and all day Thursday, November 24, 2022 for Thanksgiving

Closed on Saturday, December 24, 2022, Sunday, December 25, 2022, and Monday, December 26, 2022 for Christmas

Closed Sunday, January 1, 2023, and Monday, January 2, 2023 for New Year's Day

Closed Monday, January 16, 2023 for Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday

Closed Monday, February 20, 2023 for President's Day

Closed Sunday, April 9, 2023 for Easter

Closed Monday, April 17, 2023 for Patriots' Day

Closed Saturday, May 27, through Monday, May 29, 2023 for Memorial Day

Closed Monday, June 19, 2023 for Juneteenth

The Shrewsbury Public Library will also follow suit with any additional closings determined by the Board of Selectmen.

  • Library Hours:

    Library Hours:

    Monday: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.
    Tuesday: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.
    Wednesday: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.
    Thursday: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m
    Friday: 10:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
    Saturday: 9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
    Sunday: October through May
    1:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m.

    Please see our Hours and Closings Page for more information.

  • Contact Us:

    Contact Us:

    Tel: 508-841-8609
    email: splreference@cwmars.org
    View our Staff Directory

  • Find us:

    Find Us:

    Shrewsbury Public Library
    609 Main Street
    Shrewsbury, MA 01545