Shrewsbury Public Library

Hours and Closings


Illustrated image of a calendar and clock

Open and view our monthly events calendar.

Stay connected with Town of Shrewsbury events.

Library Hours of Operation

Monday through Thursday: 9:00 a.m.9:00 p.m.
Friday: 10:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Saturday: 9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Sunday*: October through May: 1:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m.

*Sunday Hours

The first Sunday of the 2023–2024 season is October 1, 2023. The length of the Sunday season is dependent on donations received from local sponsors. The 2023–2024 goal is to remain open on Sundays through May 19, 2024.

Storm Closings & Delayed Openings

The library can have a delayed opening or early closing at any time due to inclement weather. Parents need to make sure that children have a ride home should the library need to close unexpectedly.

We will post closings due to inclement weather or other emergencies on our home page.


Holiday Closures Through June 2025

Closed Sunday, March 31, 2024 for Easter

Closed Monday, April 15, 2024 for Patriots' Day

Closed Saturday, May 25, through Monday, May 27, 2024 for Memorial Day

Closed Wednesday, June 19, 2024 for Juneteenth

Closed Thursday, July 4, 2024 for Independence Day

Closed Saturday, August 31 through Monday, September 2, 2024 for Labor Day

Closed Monday, October 14, 2024 for Indigenous Peoples' Day/Columbus Day

Closed Monday, November 11, 2024 for Veteran's Day

Closed Wednesday, November 27 at 5:00 PM and all-day Thursday, November 28, 2024 for Thanksgiving

Closed Wednesday, December 25, 2024 for Christmas

Closed Wednesday, January 1, 2025 for New Year's Day

Closed Monday, January 20, 2025 for Martin Luther King Jr's Birthday

Closed Monday, February 17, 2025 for President's Day

Closed Sunday, April 20, 2025 for Easter

Closed Monday, April 21, 2025 for Patriot's Day

Closed Saturday, May 24 through Monday, May 26, 2025 for Memorial Day

Closed Thursday, June 19, 2025 for Juneteenth

The Shrewsbury Public Library will also follow suit with any additional closings determined by the Board of Selectmen.

  • Library Hours:

    Library Hours:

    Monday: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.
    Tuesday: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.
    Wednesday: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.
    Thursday: 9:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m
    Friday: 10:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
    Saturday: 9:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
    Sunday: October through May
    1:00 p.m.–5:00 p.m.

    Please see our Hours and Closings Page for more information.

    Stay connected with Town of Shrewsbury events.

  • Contact Us:

    Contact Us:

    Tel: 508-841-8609
    email: splreference@cwmars.org
    View our Staff Directory

  • Find us:

    Find Us:

    Shrewsbury Public Library
    609 Main Street
    Shrewsbury, MA 01545